Cougars Official Sponsor

Boys Junior Varsity Soccer, Boys Varsity Soccer · Boys Soccer Fall Awards Announced

The Cougar Boys Soccer program capped off a great 2016 campaign with bringing home hardware at the IHSAA State Championships at the end of October in Idaho Falls.  The post season began with the Cougar JV team, under first year coach Oscar Arguello, winning back to back District Championships at Ridgevue High.  Caldwell avenged their only loss of the year to Skyview just days before beating the Hawks in the title match.  The following week, the varsity team, under 4th year coach Rhys Yeakley, matched the JV, winning their second District Title in as many years against Skyview.  For the third time in four years, Caldwell Boys Soccer qualified for the IHSAA State Tournament.  The Cougars won the Consolation Championship in 2013 and placed fourth in 2015.  In the opening round of the 2016 State, Caldwell faced Jerome and beat the Tigers 1-0 in overtime play.  After dropping a second round heart breaker to Ridgevue 3-2, Caldwell rebounded strong defeating Blackfoot 2-0 to win the Third Place trophy.  Prior to the third place game, Caldwell received the IHSAA Sportsmanship Trophy, which is awarded to the school that exhibits the best sportsmanship from coaches, players, administration, and fans.

At the conclusion of the State Tournament, the SIC league office announced it’s All Conference Selections for the 2016 season.  Caldwell was well represented, having 9 boys honored.  Senior Danny Cuevas was named the SIC Player of the Year.  Senior Emilio Gonzales and sophomore Freddy Murillo earned first team honors.  Seniors Juan Esparza and Ricky Galvan, along with junior Eric Arizmendi and sophomore Hector Bermudez, earned second team honors.  Brothers, Jesus and Carlos Lechuga, were named to honorable mention.

Congratulations to all the coaches and players for their team and individual accomplishments.

POY – Danny Cuevas
Emilio Gonzales
Freddy Murillo
Ricky Galvan
Erick Arizmendi
Jesus Lechuga
Hector Bermudez
Juan Esparza
Carlos Lechuga
Sportsmanship Award
3rd Place State